keepernoob.blogg.se

Seekins keymod rail section
Seekins keymod rail section





It seems that every barrel nut of this style has resulted in an unsightly gap for me. In my particular case, I found that I had a gap between the upper and the hand guard as seen above. Once the barrel nut is installed, slide the hand guard over the nut, and lock it in place with the eight Torx screws included in the package. If you don’t own one, might I suggest a large adjustable wrench and a bit of “oomph?” Torque specs be damned. If you want to do this right, you’ll need a 1-1/8″ crowfoot wrench. Like ODIN, Seekins does not include a wrench to help your torque wrench interface. This particular type of mount is similar to the one that ODIN Works uses on their K-Mod forend. The actual barrel nut threads into that interface and locks everything down. Seekins has resolved this by creating a nut that threads on to the upper receiver of any standard AR-15 and is timed to line everything up. Given how this rail is shaped, theres simply no way to use a standard round nut. My inch and a half diameter Thunder Beast Ultra 7 just fits underneath with millimeters of clearance to spare.Ĭlearance issues put to bed, I got to installing my barrel using the included oddball barrel nut.

seekins keymod rail section seekins keymod rail section seekins keymod rail section

Luckily, someone at Seekins owns a crystal ball. The issue was that I had a twelve inch hand guard and a ten and a half inch barrel that would need about seven inches of silencer to hang off the end. Brand new stamp in hand, I set out building up a 300 BLK upper. At roughly the same time, my inbox dinged to let me know that the ATF had found me suitable for short barreled rifle ownership. With the original Samson rail back on the RPR, I had a rail to use and the realization that I still didn’t know if it mated well with an AR-15. Since then, Seekins has come out with a RPR-specific version of this hand guard that better addresses the gap you see above. I goofed around with it a bit more before the RPR had to go home and I’ll admit I thought it worked very well. Finally, the RPR could be set down on a ledge and it would assume a stable position. So I mounted it up.Īs promised, it looked terrible, but it worked like a charm. But if you’ve read any of my work prior to this, you know I don’t really listen well. They included a note with it let me know that installation on the RPR wasn’t recommended as it created an unsightly gap between the receiver and the rail. I sent my review over to the folks at Seekins and before long, I had one of their rails in my sweaty little hands. Topping the receiver with two-and-a-half pounds of scope and mount certainly didn’t help things. The rounded forend of the factory-installed Samson rail allowed for too much lateral rocking when manipulating the bolt. Shooting from awkward and improvised positions requires a rifle that can remain stable on whatever is available. I liked the rifle, but longed for a hand guard that more closely mimicked a flat-bottomed forend found on something like a McMillan A5. I first came across the SP3 while reviewing the Ruger Precision Rifle. With its home plate-like shape, Seekins SP3R V3 is nothing if not different. To stand out at all, a hand guard has to really be different. Full-length Picatinny rail along the top? Check. We’ve tried to review as many of them as we can, but at some point, it all starts to look the same.

seekins keymod rail section

Within the hand guard market alone, there are hundreds, if not thousands of options available to the consumer. Saturated doesn’t begin to describe the world of AR-15 accessories.







Seekins keymod rail section